And so this is Christmas

Early out, still dark. wanted to get into town and home before Omicron got there.

Walking along, many thoughts crossed my mind. Many sights assailed me.

Some of them are here, below the words.

I saw artificial lights. Never a patch on the real thing.

I saw shadows of real people, who never did see the luxury of the promenade they are destined to traverse, for as long as they last…

I saw boardwalks. Boardwalks! Far from boardwalks were we reared. A closer look showed a heap on a bench on a boardwalk. Some mother’s son. Or daughter.

I saw the juxtaposition of bricks and mortar from times past against the glass and shine of modern construction.

I thought: I am here, now. I might not have another minute. I am here now. What do I want my last thought to be? it is more a feeling than a thought… thanks!

Happy Christmas 2021

Leave a comment